Everything you need to know about Florida’s Medical Marijuana Laws and when you can smoke
Posted: 11:00 am Monday, February 6th, 2017
By Staff Writer
It took two tries, three years, and more than $11 million to legalize medical cannabis in Florida.
Now comes Phase Two. Roll up your sleeves, everybody.
Currently there are only six licensed marijuana dispensaries in Florida. Patients must have a 90-day relationship with a doctor who has completed the required training before they can get a recommendation for medical cannabis.
The legal language of Amendment 2 was written to explicitly allow medical marijuana to be provided as a treatment for patients with the following specific diseases:
post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)
amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS)
Amendment 2 was also designed to allow licensed physicians to certify patients for medical cannabis use after diagnosing them with some “other debilitating medical conditions of the same kind or class as or comparable to those enumerated.”
Sooo how does an average guy like myself get a license for pain, migraines, or sleep disorder? What if my arm hurts or I have an eating disorder?
This is a great fact to know:
Only certain doctors who’ve gone through training can approve the drug for you. An entire list is on the Florida Department of Health’s website with all of their information. Once again, your primary care physician cannot approve it if they do not have a specific license. Also, the doctor can only order medical cannabis if they’ve treated you for at least 90 days.
And both Pasco and Manatee Counties have requested bans on medical cannabis in their communities! Sorry for your luck folks!